Thing #14 – Web 2.0 Tools – Storybird

After exploring a directory of Web 2.0 Tools and Applications, I have found something new to share with my students and other teachers. By following this link: https://storybird.com/educators/ students can create professionally illustrated picturebooks, poetry, and even longform stories. It is called Storybird, and it’s a unique language arts tool. Students write a story, and then use illustrations made available to them onsite to spur their imagination, and encourage them to keep on writing. Storybird stirs the emotions while it engages the brain and jumpstarts students into their text, avoiding the blank-page syndrome. And it’s effective: Schools have seen as much as three grade-level jumps in literacy when using Storybird throughout the year. I am thrilled I found this tool because I can write stories, but I can’t draw very well. I’m definitely saving this website to my favorites!

Leave a Reply

